Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

Gousto Reviews

2.5 Rating 721 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
2.5
Based on 721 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Gousto Reviews
Visit Website

Write Your review

Gousto 1 star review on 20th May 2024
Lee
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 19th November 2022
Anonymous
12
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible company. My first box had missing and damaged ingredients, which Gousto only refunded as credit, so you have to pay to replace. Second box didn't even arrive. So no food for the week as they can't deliver another box to replace After speaking to online chat, asking for a refund, and saying we didn't want to order from them again....they send us another box and charged us £40 for it. Apparently, we were not specific enough in our cancellation request...! Only offered 50% refund. Smug customer service. Will never touch this company again. Ever. And when you look online, a lot of people are saying the same
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kris, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear your first box had missing and damaged ingredients. Unfortunately due to using external couriers we're unable to send replacements so do honour a refund or credit for the value of these ingredients. Sorry you did not receive your second box and there was some miss communication regarding the status of your account, if the account was left active and an order was not chosen or skipped we do send a chef selection box, once again I do apologise if this was not made clear and there is the option to pause the account or fully cancel. If you would like me to double check your account and help with anything else please do get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help, please mention my name and I will be happy to help. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
I cancelled well in advance of my cut off date. Gusto still sent a box, they said because we had chosen recipes, which we did 4 weeks previously, the cancel won't take effect. I have proof in emails showing I cancelled in time, and they admit this. They just say that I can't have meant to cancel because we had recipes picked. The email I got after cancelling said I wouldn't receive any more boxes. They charged £50 and sent a box we didn't want or need. Use hello fresh, they have excellent customer service. This is not an easy one to cancel, they want any excuse to keep charging you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Dave, many thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. So truly sorry about the situation with your subscription and the unexpected order! Generally, if recipes have been chosen and saved for an order, turning off the subscription shortly after wont delete the order in question. For your case it sounds as though you would have needed to click into the order itself, then select 'cancel.' We do try to make this clear in all emails, especially the email confirmation you would have received from turning off the subscription (it states that if you have any pending / confirmed orders, you will need to manually cancel those if you wish). I would be happy to look into your comments further, If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact, please mention my name and I will be able to get this looked into further for you. Best wishes, Sarah - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Why do you sell your eggs in individual packing... waste of trees and environment not needed cardboard
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Samantha, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our eggs are packed individually to ensure that they are protected during transit so there is a very small chance that they will break. The packaging that the eggs do come in is fully recyclable. I will also pass your feedback onto our team to look into this further. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
So it all started great, however, deliveries are often late, meaning you are left with mouldy food. It’s really not worth the subscription!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your deliveries arriving late and the ingredients being unsatisfactory. I would be happy to look into this issues further for you. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact, please mention my name and I will be able to get this looked into for you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Half way through my second box and the quality of the meat is so poor, chicken breast are about half the size of a standard breast, mince is like the consistency of dog food. Won’t be ordering again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that the meat products you have received from us have not been satisfactory, as we pride ourselves on delivering the freshest and best quality ingredients to your door. I do apologise for any disappointment. I would be happy to look into your comments further, If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact, please mention my name and I will be able to get this looked into further for you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto have defrauded me out of £47. I resubscribed to Gousto yesterday 7/7/21, selecting to receive my first box on 18/7/21. Today I received a notification that my box had been chosen by a chef and was arriving 11/7/21. I then went on my app and saw that I was also due for a box to arrive on 12/7/21! I cancelled this box straight away but too late for the 11/7/21 which I am told 'cannot be cancelled'. I never signed up to this box and do not want it. Customer service are refusing to give me my money back.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that this has happened and it sounds like there has been some kind of error which I would like to take a further look into for you. If you could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You will then be able to get in touch with us via email. Please mention my name and I will then be able to take a further look. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
Very poor customer relations, after taking in one of your boxes for a neighbour who failed to collect it, and one of them became very verbally abusive when I asked for the box to be removed from my home, I telephoned customer services on two occasions to ask for the box to be uplifted, on both occasions I was told to dispose of it, but I said that I didn't wish to do that as I could be accused of witholding the box and also I had several health issues and was concerned that as the box had been in my home by now for four days I thought that the contents may be starting to decompose raising environmental health issues. The last services adviser I spoke to was adamant that their couriers only deliver, they do not collect or return. be sure that you don't need to return anything.....it won't happen. This is an edited version of what I really think.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you have had to endure verbal abuse from one of your neighbours when you have asked for their box to be removed off your property as well as the courier not being able to retrieve the box. The courier would be able to retrieve the order on the day of the delivery, however, they would not be able to do this after the day of the delivery. If you could please dispose of the contents as it does contain fresh food. I would also like to assure you that you will not be accused of withholding the box. My sincerest apologies for this and for the inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
Outragreous I have tried to cancel my subscription on their app which does not allow you to progress beyond choosing that option. I have gone back in several times just in case it was a one off issue with their app, but no it doesn’t even offer up the help on the app; very suspicious that anything to do with cancelling is not available. I have emailed several times over a period of months to ask them to confirm the total cancellation not even to just pause and in the meantime I have to keep skipping the deliveries to avoid further orders I don’t want . They NEVER acknowledge ; disgraceful. Other competitors are so superior to this in every way, not just the customer service but also the freshness of the ingredients. How do these businesses survive behaving like this ? Astonishing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that you've experienced some issued with stopping your subscription. I would like to take a further look into this for you and get to the bottom of this. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and mention my name, I will then be able to look into this for you, Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
What a disappointment your customer service team are. I've got moldy food and you won't refund the cost of my meal, only the cost of the item which is moldy. You've lost another customer, but that doesn't appear to concern you. I shall be putting a claim in with PayPal against you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that you have received an ingredient that is mouldy. We do issue credit for the affected ingredient in hopes that you are able to replace the affected ingredient and still be able to make and enjoy the recipe. On the occasion that you were not able to replace the affected ingredient, please do let us know and we will be able to review this for you. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and mention my name, I will then be able to take a further look. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
I have contacted customer service 3 times now that money been taken from my account, they have said it’a only pre auth for what? Not sure…I have canceled my subscribtion still got charged. Customer service only says they will do and they will solve the issue, I have loged in online, and nothing has been done.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Vio, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that this is the case, usually, the pre-authorisation is voided automatically and if this has not happened we are able to void this manually from our end. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and then mention my name. I will then be able to investigate this further for you. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
I checked the tracking at 5pm and the deliver driver was in Downham (fair enough), its now half 7 and having gone round bromley and my house is now back in Downham. I think the food is great, but the deliver is very very poor. I have called three times and twice an American man was very helpful but a lady put the phone straight down on me. Chicken has now been in trainset for over 12 hours.. concerning to say the least.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Hannah, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience with our couriers, this is definitely not the standard of service that we from our couriers. I would also like to apologise for one of the agents putting the phone down straight away, this should have not happened and I would like to get this investigated further. I can assure you that as long as the ice packs have not melted and the chicken is still cold alongside the other items in the cool box, the chicken should be completely fine to use. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact, please mention my name and I will be able to get this looked into further for you. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
My last box arrived at 10.30pm at night on an extremely hot day. The box had clearly been sitting in a non-refrigerated courier van all day. I contacted customer services about the late box and said they’d confirm when the box would be with me via email, they never did and then the courier expected me to open my door at 10.30pm at night! Emailed gousto as the meat didn’t feel cold enough and they couldn’t care less if they have food safety issues. In my third email to them I clearly requested details of their complaints procedure and ombudsman details which they have not responded to and that was 3 days ago. I have since paused my subscription given a good company doesn’t want to deal with food safety.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, thank you for your review. I am really sorry to hear that you were not able to use your Gousto box due to the contents being warm. I would like to look into this further for you so we can also raise this issue with our depot team and to work towards preventing this from happening again. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Fadumo- Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Apalling.service. completed a first order of 4 meals that i was greatly.looking forward too. I m currently undergoing chemotherapy so i believed this would be a quick , easy method of delicious , healthy food. My order day arrived , no items delivered. At this point i had very little in for dinner as i was counting on the meals arriving. At 8pm still no sign , when tracked the order it said that it.could not deliver due to the contents ??????????? Gobsmacked to say the least. Have written an email to Gousto but as yet 24 hours later no reply. Shame as I had heard great things but.i would be very reluctant to use again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am so sorry to hear of your negative experience, and would like to look into what has happened with your delivery. If there was a 'contents' issue my understanding is that the box may have suffered damage in transit, but we can confirm this. If you haven't received a response from us as yet, do please come onto our live chat so that we can instantly help resolve this issue. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience and disruption this has caused you. Robin
Posted 3 years ago
recipes are great, delivery effective and packaging impressive but OMG customer service abhorrent. Rude and inefficient online chat host and no easy way to contact customer service. The website is all over the place if you want anything outside ordering and there is no easy way to contact customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Rita, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear that you've had issues and would really like to be able to investigate this further for you. Could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. I'll help with this and you’ll come through to me. Best wishes - Robin
Posted 3 years ago
Not even received the food and there's already 2 issues. Best before dates expire before we will have a change eat. At 3pm The parcel hasn't even left Yodel depot that's over 4 hours away. They said they'd contact Yodel who will be in touch in 2 hours, by which time I will have to leave home and buy food for the evening.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the shelf life of your recipes is not suitable, we always try to provide the longest shelf life possible and our recommended use by date are on our website before choosing your meals. We will of course ensure your feedback is passed across to our food developers and recipe teams, along with suppliers to see if there is anyway we can increase our dates. If you are still experiencing delivery issues or have not heard back from Yodel/our team. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Missing ingredients and mouldy items. When complained was told would be refunded for the missing items only. So, two meals ruined due to missing items and mouldy “fresh” goods but only refunded for those items. So ordering Gousto for the convenience means you either have to go to the supermarket to purchase missing items or throw the meals away but you only get refund for missing items. So ordering from Gousto for the convenience of getting home after a hard day at work to cook a fresh meal is out the window as you might have or have not the ingredients and you might, might not have to take a trip to the supermarket to get the missing items. Really this is not what we pay for and not what we expect. Subscription cancelled and will take my custom elsewhere tgat appreciates customers 🤷‍♂️
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, I am truly sorry to hear you’re not happy with the credit/refund offered, please http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact so we can look for a better way to make this up to you. We take issues with ingredients very seriously and we will follow up on this accordingly. Please get in touch, kind regards Ivy
Posted 3 years ago
I received my.first order on Saturday for 3 meals, 2 of which had missing ingredients plus they forgot to include the recipe cards. Also really disappointed with the serving size for 1 meal. Then on Wednesday I got a notification that they had chosen my meals for delivery on Saturday without prior warning that I needed to choose or they would be automatically chosen for me. They advised that the order couldn't be altered or cancelled, even though the ingredients chosen are all fresh, so the idea that they are prepping my delivery for Saturday is ludicrous. I find this practice underhand to say the least. The meals chosen were completely random and not in line with what I'd normally eat at all. If they insist on delivery honestly it'll go straight in the bin as I have no incline to eat the recipes chosen at all. I'm disgusted with their service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Mark, I am truly sorry to hear you have had some issues with your box. Could you please contact us via http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact so we can look into this for you and make it right. It takes 3 days to prepare our boxes, to source the ingredients, to pack it and to dispatch it hence we have the cut off point which is 3 days prior delivery day but please get in touch and we will find a solution for you. thank you Ivy
Posted 3 years ago
So very disappointed with Gousto, I cancelled this weeks delivery within good time and yet it arrived on my doorstep today with money taken out of my account. I have read numerous reviews all with the same story. I have cancelled my subscription and will be returning to 'HELLO FRESH' they would not treat a customer like this and their food is delicious !!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Helen, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the cancellation of a delivery was not processed correctly, please could you let us know if this was done via the app or website format? I would like to look into this further for you so we can check your account is on the right status and to work towards preventing this from happening again. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
I am so disappointed in the service from gousto. I was really looking forward to trialling out a recipe box. It seemed great on first impressions, however each meal I made, I noticed missing ingredients, so had to do my own thing with the recipes anyway. I cancelled the future boxes I had scheduled and paused my subscription as it just wasn’t right for me right now. I then today received an email saying the money for my next box had come out of my bank and another from gousto saying my next box had been confirmed! A box I cancelled!!!! I immediately got in touch with the customer service team, and got a reply from a Jordan. Although very polite, he has been very unwilling to resolve this issue and instead of listening to what I say, is telling me ‘there’s no record of cancellation’ which is extremely frustrating from the customers point of view when I full well know I cancelled this service. He is not allowing me a refund for the box I cancelled and is insisting there’s no way of resolving this issue as I’ve ‘missed the cut off time’. But I in fact cancelled the boxes before the cut off time. Whether there has been an error on the app I do not know. But I am very certain I cancelled the box, I even had a home page that said something along the lines of ‘no scheduled deliveries’. Now magically the box is back on my home page as if there was no cancellation. I do not want this box and I took the steps to stop it arriving and I certainly don’t think I should be paying for it! I’m extremely disappointed with the service and the lack of willingness to solve the problem from the customer services department. I understand you’ll have certain rules to go by, however, I shouldn’t have to pay for an error that is not mine. I expected it to be an inconvenience at the most to solve this issue, but this is ridiculous.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am truly sorry to hear of your experience with us and this is certainly not the service we want to provide. Gousto is a flexible subscription, and we always want to ensure you have full control of your account, any account left active but no orders chosen or skipped a chef selection box will be processed. An account which is paused means only the account holder can create one off orders when required. I am sorry the actions you have taken to get your account in the right status has not worked and we can look into this further for you. Please could you contact us through the help section of your Gousto account/our webpage? and mention my name and that you initially got in touch via reviews. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
I used gousto for 6 weeks, and three boxes out of the six I ordered had missing ingredients. They kept offering £2 vouchers off my next order. Insulting. Yes, the recipes are great and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of cooking great food at home, but if your value prop is providing ingredients and you can't do that effectively, then you are a pretty useless service. I am not paying so much money per week for fancy recipe cards. Considering that so many more people have had the same terrible experience, it's best to steer clear of gousto until they get their act together.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am extremely sorry for the missing items from your recent boxes. We are currently working very hard with the factory team to prevent these mistakes from happening unfortunately some still slip through the cracks despite our best efforts. We tend to offer a credit or partial refund to the value of the ingredients affected in hopes that the item can be replaced and your recipe still enjoyed. I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team to help further the prevention of any future mistakes. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your Gousto account. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto is rated 2.5 based on 721 reviews