Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

Gousto Reviews

2.5 Rating 721 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
2.5
Based on 721 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Gousto Reviews
Visit Website

Write Your review

Gousto 1 star review on 20th May 2024
Lee
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 19th November 2022
Anonymous
12
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have received a number of boxes from Gousto, the food is not as nice as Hello Fresh but it's okay. About 2 weeks ago I cancelled my subscription as I go on holiday in a few days and I knew I would have to cancel a week in advance. Today the money for next weeks box was taken from my account, I called them to advised I had cancelled my subscription and I will be in Wales when it's delivered so I would like a refund, the agent kept speaking over me, she refused to refund me and said she was unable to cancel the box, she offered to refund me 20% which is useless to me if I'm not going to receive the box. I have contacted PayPal for a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jade, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m really sorry to hear that you have been sent a box that you will not be able to use at all. We can’t apologise enough for the inconvenience, it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide as we are not keen on food wastage and would not want to put you in such a predicament. I would be more than happy to take a second look into this for you. Could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Fadumo - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered from Gousto a while back, just one box and was lovely. Wasn’t a subscription, just a one time box to try it. A few days ago my partner got an email saying our order will be delivered on this day, so and so. But we had never even ordered a box. We contacted Gousto and they refused to give me a refund for a box I never even ordered. So at the moment I have a box of food I don’t even like and money taken from my account when I never authorised it. Do not order from here or you could potentially be a part of their thieving schemes as well. Before you think that it was a re-accruing subscription and this is all just a confusion. It isn’t, we have only ever ordered a one of box maybe a month or so ago.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your first box with us. I can assure you that there is no thieving scheme. To give you some more clarity of how this has happened, when you first sign up with us and select your first order, you go through the process of choosing a specific delivery day and how often you would like to receive a box whether that is weekly, fortnightly or on a monthly basis. We would then send a welcome email after your account has been created with all of the necessary information about the subscription and the choices that you would have made. To order as and when, you would need to head to 'My Gousto' and then to the 'Subscriptions' tab and stop the subscription, this will allow you to order as and when. I would like to discuss this further with you and see if there is anything else that I can do to help or answer any further questions. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. Please mention my name and you will come through to me. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Only had it a few weeks. Food is missing from a lot of recipes. The vegetables have had some mould (not always just a couple times). It’s a bit difficult finding recipes as when I click mince all I’m given is vegetarian stuff. Bit weird.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you for reaching out to us. I am truly sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent delivery and would really like to discuss this with you further as it's certainly not the service we wanted, or expect, you to receive. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Best Wishes, - Fadumo
Posted 3 years ago
Most of the negative reviews here are about delivery. Mine is actually just about the product. I can only imagine that this is aimed at people who have never shopped and never cooked, and seem to think there is something amazing about cooking average food using a recipe. We trialled Gousto having been very impressed with the quality and taste of the recipes from Simply Cook. Their simple additions to recipes elevate a home-cooked meal to restaurant quality with no extra time or experience needed. We thought that this would be the same, or maybe even better. The recipes are average at best, written in a disjointed and haphazard way that leaves things ready too early and left cold at the side (deliberately). There is a huge amount of packaging and plastic waste, and the short expiry dates mean you better get eating as soon as your package arrives. Also, I’m not sure how they decide what counts as “store cupboard” items - for instance, they give you a tiny pouch of dried chicken stock, but you have to provide your own flour... fine by me but seems disorganised and inconsistent. The most disappointing thing is how truly average the meals are. There is not one ingredient that seems premium or flavoursome to add a “wow” to your dish - it’s just plain old standard supermarket fare (for instance, generic “Italian hard cheese”) with some very expensive recipe cards thrown in.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you feel as though our service is aimed at consumers who have never cooked, this is definitely not the case. With our boxes we always aim to provide great tasting, healthy and well balanced meals that anyone with all cooking skill levels can enjoy. Our chef’s do everything that they can to ensure that all of our recipes taste great however, this is also down to personal preference and I am really sorry that you were not able to enjoy the recipes. Our chef’s also try to make the cooking instructions as clear and as easy to follow, but I will make sure to pass your feedback onto them so that they can look into this further. We've been working with suppliers and sustainable packaging specialists to remove over 100 tonnes of plastic from our boxes in the last year. Our next challenge is to make all Gousto-branded packaging reusable, recyclable or compostable by the end of 2022. If you would like to read more about this, then please head to https://www.gousto.co.uk/blog/sustainability. If there is anything further that you would like to discuss with us, pass any other feedback along the way or if there is anything else we can help with, please do not hesitate to contact us through http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact and we will be more than happy to help with any queries. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Appalling, If I could give 0 stars I would. The customer service is awful. I received my first box, meal was missing. No problem I thought, these things happen. Requested a refund through the app for the missing items. Easy! Haha, no. Didn't get a refund notification, invoice for the next box was at full price. We'll fine, it wasn't a lot of money anyway, I'll just move on. Next box comes, item arrive smashed (glass so inedible). This is frustrating. Fine, ask for a refund on that and ask if I can have my subscription cancelled through customer services email. This is were it all goes down hill. Get ignored, then only get half an answer. I am repeatedly called by the wrong name. I keep asking for my subscription to be cancelled. Then they said the email thread was closed and dill have to contact them again. So I did that, get ignored. Then called by the wrong name again. I start asking for my complaint to be escalated now because no one is cancelling my subscription. I get another box. I've asked for a refund. Ignored. Asked for the complaints to be escalated 4/5ish times. Ignored. Told I can't have a refund because I only requested a few days prior, so I sent proof of my original email requesting that its cancelled and again request my complaint be escalated (also called by the wrong name) that was a few days ago now. Still waiting a response, if I get one at all. I have been able to pause it but nit cancel but I think right now that's the best result I'll get. Please avoid this place, there are other boxes that have wonderful customer services. Good recipes that don't come smashed, and they'll call you by your name.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, We're so sorry to hear of the experience you have received from us, this is very disappointing, and i would love to get this resolved as soon as possible for you. If it would be a better option to speak over the phone we can get this organised for you to prevent miss communication on emails. If you wish for a call back please request this by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code, any original ticket references and best number & time. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Yodel!! Absolutely appalling delivery service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about the recent issue with your delivery. I am so sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the courier service we use. Yodel take care of our deliveries Monday - Saturday but we use DPD on Sundays. Many of our customers find that making a change to their delivery day helps improve the reliability of their deliveries, if it is at all possible for you I'd recommend trying a different delivery day. Your box should always reach you between 8am -7pm anything outside of this, we would appreciate it if you could let us know so we can investigate further for you and so we can help prevent this from happening again in future. If you'd like to discuss this further please get in touch via the help section of your account. Again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
Honestly, just awful. Ordered my first box and when it arrived it was missing 5 items, items I’d paid for and were needed for 2 of the recipes. Think I’ll stick to hellofresh. Avoid at all cost, not a good way to attract new customers, is it?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's disappointing to hear ingredients were missing from your box and certainly not the standard we expect to deliver and sorry for the poor experience with your first box. We would love to look into this further for you, and hopefully restore your faith in Gousto, if you could please get in touch by clicking 'Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, confirming full name, email address and post code. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Great food but very poor delivery options. Used for three years no problems and lately deliveries always after 7pm it's to late. Driver's saying delivered and goods not been there. Change courier
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you have experienced later deliveries than usual our standard delivery window is between 8am-7pm so our couriers should be staying in line with this. We use Yodel Monday - Saturday and DPD on a Sunday. Monday is our busiest day, however it may be an option to look at choosing a different delivery day to see if performance is any better. Please do get in touch with us if the late deliveries still persist, you can do this by sending a message with your post code, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Would love to try the Gousto food but none of these companies cater for single people, great pity
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Grace, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Even as a single person you are able to enjoy our service if you do order for the portion size for two people. you are able to save one of the portions either for later that same day or save it for the following day. I will also get this feedback passed on to our team. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Some orders don't arrive some they deliver differently to what I selected.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues with your deliveries and orders - this isn't what we expect and you should always receive what you've ordered! I'd really love to get all this sorted for you so could you please could you send me a message with your postcode, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, I'll be able to help resolve this for you. Thank you, Zara - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Twice now Yodel have been rubbish at delivery. It is noon and the driver hasn't even left yet. Noway are we going to receive by 7 ! Gousto are not getting a grip as requested.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and I'm really sorry that your delivery was later than expected. Our delivery slots are from 8am-7pm although the couriers will usually send an estimated delivery window on the morning of your delivery. You will receive an update as soon as your box is scanned onto a van and the driver is out on their route for the day. In some areas, this may not be until the afternoon depending on the shift of the driver but you should still receive your box by 7pm. If you need any further help, please send me a message with your postcode, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, I'll be able to help resolve this for you. Best wishes Zara - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
We were looking forward to trying - out Gusto; but it was a non - starter for us. We were so incensed by the lack of professionalism that we posted our in - depth review on 'TripAdvisor', under the title:- "Not - So - Mucho - Gusto!!" We have only just discovered the so -called email addresses of the executive team; and I wish that I had bombarded every one of them with my feedback. I am now getting emails from people purporting to be Gousto staff apologizing for each cock - up.......not one of them listed on line as a genuine staff member! No doubt you will dispute my email address - just like those I had to deal with; by my TtipAdvisor review speaks for itself.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, I’m really sorry your first experience with us was so disappointing. We’re working with our factory team at the moment to investigate the system error, so we can make sure this doesn’t happen again. We can’t apologise enough for the inconvenience, it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide, or the first impression we want to make. I'm sorry for the disruption you’ve had to your Gousto box. it’s certainly not the standard of service we wish to provide, or the first impression we want to make. Please know this is not our usual level of service. We’re doing everything we can to overcome these challenges, and we really appreciate your support. Gousto does not use Trip Advisor for reviews. We would like to discuss this issue with you further could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Winnie - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
terrible. continuously missing ingredients. wrong meals sent. one portion size delivered for a family of four. a product that is supposed to simplify a busy family life, actually made it more difficult. after moaning to work colleagues about my issues, i was to learn i was not alone!!! very poor. would not recommend at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the poor experience that you have had recently and I can assure you that this not the standard of service that we aim to provide and our team are working hard behind the scenes to ensure that something like this does not occur again. Just to give you a little context, we are continuing on our mission to feed as many families as possible during this time and to aid with this we have recently opened a brand new factory, but despite our best efforts, we have experienced some teething issues. Please know that this is temporary and we are returning back to our usual level of service. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
I have used Gousto for approx 18 months which has been useful during the lockdown. You pay a premium price for food being delivered to your door but we thought it was a way of providing meals whilst we were shielding. Recently our boxes have failed to arrive on 2 occasions. When you try to sort this you are invited to a 'Chat' box. The chat box is obviously overseas, as is the telephone number available. It is so frustrating when they say that they have compensated you for the non arrival - when in truth all they do is credit the cost of the box to your Gousto account so that you are in a position to use them again. Customer service is poor, and a service which thrives on being 'convenient' is not worth the extra cost of the food in the boxes if you can not rely on it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi , many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Gousto. I would like to offer our deepest apologies for the trouble you had to experience with your recent Gousto box delivery. This situation is not ordinary and these incidents are not typical of us. We are very serious when it comes to our customers satisfaction. I would like share this feedback with our depot team, so they can further look into this. Could you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Best wishes, Fadumo - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
I've been using Gusto for about 18mths and almost weekly. We had a few chicken issues but it was mostly ok. Delivery v good in our area. However, it's become more and more frequent that the quality of ingredients is awful. Spring onions, garlic or cooking onions are normally way past their use but today was the worse..it started with the wrong bits and bobs pack sent for one of the meals but then went to fridge to make one of the other meals to find my lower shelf with 6 packs of Gusto chicken full (I mean dripping on the floor ) of meat juices!! They have said they will replace the bits and bobs pack and one of the chicken packs .. yesterday my fridge smelt awful and I thought it was salad that looked a bit sad so threw it all..today still a bad smell and its the Gusto chicken! We found a small pin hole in one pack but I can't use the other 5 as there is still a bad smell and the amount of juice in the fridge leads us to believe that more packs will have holes so Im not risking salmonella.. if the packs smell bad that's good enough for me. I tried to live chat the above info and three times live chat ended abruptly and at the last chat they were not refunding me the whole box so I've lost 32.00!! So I'm done.. bad quality food with things missing and not to mention the portion sizes which are not enough for 4 adults along with 5 packs of meat being thrown way I'm 38.00 out of pocket
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I can't apologise enough for the poor experience that you've had recently. I can assure you that these issues will be investigated thoroughly by our team and they will do everything that they can to ensure that this never happens again. I would also like to apologise for the chat ending abruptly as this should not happen. I would like to take a further look into this for you, so could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’ and select ‘Trustpilot/Google Review’ from the dropdown. In the email could you please mention my name. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Gusto, We had our second box arrive yesterday upon un packing we noticed a lot of the ingredients were past there best, damaged or missing, we have ordered for a family of 4 yet some of the ingredients were only for 2 off people, all the cans provided were dented/damaged, I don't feel the courier could have carried this out. Similar to your another customer we were offered a very small amount to "buy" in the groceries, this is totally unacceptable, we are using this service so we don't have to take unnecessary trips to the shops, the amount offered will not cover the items to replace, we are more annoyed that someone responsible for packing theses good has thought that its good enough to send them on to us, you need to restore my confidence in you
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi J. Charles, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. How disappointing to hear this. We’re truly sorry for the inconvenience and the service you had with us. We would love to look into this further, can you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Please advise us of the missing ingredients. Best wishes, Fadumo - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
My box arrived however there were lots of ingredients missing so I am unable to make 2 out of the four recipes. Also, everything was shoved into one box so I had to hunt through it to check all the ingredients were there- not what I wanted after a long day a work!!!! I was offered a partial refund, but that didn’t really cover the hassle of having to go out and buy more food in order to make dinner! I have used hello fresh previously and found that a much better service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Stephanie, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and I'm so sorry that you've had issues with missing ingredients. This isn't the level of service we expect our customers to experience and all feedback is taken on board so improvements can be made. In terms of the packaging in our box, the 'unboxing' experience is so important to us, and the reason that our veggies, tins and breads etc are loose in the box is so the amount of unnecessary packaging is minimal. I know some customers would prefer their meals to be packaged separately in the box and this is something that I will feed back to the team for consideration in the future. I see you've mentioned that you've been in touch with the team already regarding the missing ingredients, but if there is anything else I can help with please send me a message with your postcode, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, I'll be able to help resolve this for you. Thanks! Zara - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
They will charge you for a box of stuff you don’t want if you don’t go on the app and pause your subscription. Apparently not choosing any recipes is not enough to signal that you don’t want/can’t use any of it. So wasted £35 and a lot of food.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, I'm so sorry that you received an unexpected order recently. If your subscription is active at the cut off time (12pm 3days before your delivery is due) and you have not selected your recipes or cancelled the box, a chefs selection box will be prepared for you. We do our best to help you manage your orders, we even send out reminder email to ensure you make the relevant changes to your delivery, before the order is processed. I do apologise if this was unclear, If you'd like to discuss it further please get in touch via the help section where you can email us with your details, mention that you've come through from review IO and spoken to me. We'll be happy to look into this further for you. Best wishes - Jodie the Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Having ordered and worked for Gousto i found both below par despite telling of issues to both. I am afraid it seems Gousto dont have the mentality to sort issues out despite being informed how to sort this Good Luck
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Steven, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. How disappointing to hear this. We’re truly sorry for the inconvenience and the service you had with us. We would love to look into this further, can you please get in touch via this link, and add your email address, postcode and my name, we will then be able to access your account, to address this issue. https://www.gousto.co.uk/help-centre Please advise us of the missing ingredients. Best wishes, Amina - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Cancelled order via website due to work commitments had a message and money come out of my account for a order I cancelled . NO REPLY FROM GUSTO so delivery is going to be stuck on door step for a week also they have sent me a order they think I would like all fish dishes I never order fish as no one likes much fish
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kay, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm not sure what happened there and as you have already been in touch with us, our team will be able to look into this further for you. I would like to apologise for the delay in our response but our team will get this resolved for you. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto is rated 2.5 based on 721 reviews