Hi Valeriya! Really sorry to hear this. I'll have to take a look into your coaching experience and figure out what went wrong, or what we should have done differently. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations, and I apologize for that. A lot has changed since the summer of 2023 since you were with us, so I'd love for another opportunity to show you what we're all about and how we can help. I truly believe a new round of coaching could turn your opinion around. If you're ever interested in trying again, even if it's just trying us again for 1 month, let me know. Send me an email to dylan@macrosinc.net
“My first coach was a complete dud for workout routines. She asked if i deloaded and said yes. Then she sent me a deload 2 weeks from the first one. I told her I didn't have an airbike and she said ok no worries. I didn't realize air bike meant air bicycles like abs. And apparently neither did she but my second coach pointed it out. I feel like I got a chatgpt coach for the first 8 weeks and didn't make much progress. I am bummed about what I paid for her time. I prefer my second coach much more.”
Hi Amanda. First off, thanks for the honesty here. I appreciate you being frank about your experience and the things you didn't feel were up to par. I'm glad we were able to get you matched with a different coach and that you feel she's a much better fit for you. I'll have to take a look into the situation & see what we could have done better prior to the coach change. I'm always looking for valuable insight like this because although I can't go back and change how your experience was, it does help us give people a better experience going forward. We can always learn from our mistakes and I believe there's something we can learn here as well.
Again thank you for sharing this. If you ever need anything you can email me directly at dylan@macrosinc.net
“I started with only the nutrition package then bumped up to complete package as I was told my coach would able to assist with specific training geared towards endurance cycling.
Few things resulted in me not continuing - the day I I met with my coach she went on vacation so my “trial period” was not even a trial period. Secondly, she shared with me she was currently going through a divorce and the conversation shifted to be me coaching her rather her helping me with the service I purchased. As an human, I could not be rude and clearly she was not in the right mindset to be coaching “behavior changes” when going through a dramatic life experience. She shared this was her sole income so I stayed with her. At that time we had discussed the complete package so I enrolled in that and it just went south from there. After purchasing she shared w me that she was currently receiving the credentials to help with my goals specifically around endurance cycling and events I had signed up for. As we started coaching, it was clear that it wasn’t the best fit as she multiple times could not answer my questions related to endurance training and she would get back to me after speaking to the person who she was receiving her training from. I would have been good with that if there was follow through however there wasn’t so I just let my plan end knowing it was best to just split ways all together.
Lastly to top it off, I ended up getting pregnant so rather switching coaches at a different term, I was told I couldn’t work with a coach so I did not return
A few time I have considered returning to coaching however the experience I had was so unprofessional I can’t imagine something similar wouldn’t happen again.
Overall I may have lost 2 lbs and did became leaner as a result of becoming more aware of the amount of fat I consumed”
Hey Victoria. Thanks for sharing this. I'm sorry this was your experience. Not cool at all. This isn't how we do business and isn't what the normal experience is like. Out of 1000 reviews here on this site, 97% rated us positive, so if you were to give us a 2nd chance, there's an extremely low likelihood a poor experience would happen again, let alone an experience like the one you had. The coach you worked with has not been employed by us for over a year now, and it's been about a year & a half since you've worked with us. A lot has changed since then. We're always refining & making improvements to our coaching in every way we can, from personal coach education to technology implementations & advancements. I'd love it if you'd be willing to give us another shot, but I also understand if you end up choosing not to.
If you're ever interested, contact me personally at dylan@macrosinc.net. I'm the Head of Client Experience here at Macros Inc, and I'll see to it that we get you matched with an amazing coach.
Really sorry to hear this, Jen! One of the things we always try to encourage is frequent communication with your coach, and that you ask a lot of questions. The more our clients reach out to their coach, the more questions they ask, the more knowledge & education we're able to impart on them so they can know the things they're wanting to know.
That isn't to say you were not doing this, to be clear. We simply encourage as much learning as possible when or if someone feels like they're not learning the things they want to know, and so that's why communication is so imperative to success in coaching.
I will look into this and see what we could have done better on our end! I really don't anyone to ever walk away feeling like they didn't get the knowledge they were looking for, so again I'm sorry you felt this was the case for you! There must be something we could have done better, and that's what I'll look into and make sure we strive to do.
If you ever want to contact me personally or share more, I'm available at dylan@macrosinc.net
“I did not have a really good experience with my coaching, I honestly feel like it caused more stress than anything. I had told my coach a few times that I had issues with weighing everyday, I got to the point where i fixated so much on the number and it going up and then to find out I was On top of that I had tracked all my recipes wrong for 2 months before I was told I wasnt tracking them right. I feel like I just wasted 2 months and $338. I got to the point where I was so stressed out over the scale going up and trying to use the MM+ app correctly so I felt defeated and just gave up. I have done macro tracking with a different company and had a completely different experience it was postive and I had great results so im not really for sure what the disconnect is, but I ended up frustrated and had to stop for my own sanity. And in the end I weigh more now than when I started.”
Hey Ashley. Thanks for the honesty here. I'm bummed to hear this. I'm going to have to look into this and figure out where we went wrong and what we should have done differently. I don't ever want to hear someone feels like they wasted their money or didn't benefit from having a coach. The whole point of hiring a coach is supposed to be to guide you to your goals and help you get far beyond where you were when you started. Doesn't sound like that happened this time, and I'm really sorry.
I'll be doing a deeper dive into your situation and see what opportunities we have for improvement and where we need to do better. And if there's ever a chance you'd be willing to try coaching again, please let me know. I'm always confident there's something for us to learn after looking into a negative experience, so I'm sure we can do better next time around if you're open to that.
You can also contact me personally at any time if there's ever anything else you'd like to share. My email is dylan@macrosinc.net
Thank you!
“I believe that the coaching was too focused on "calories in vs calories out". For many folks who have experienced trauma, mental illness, and cultural differences, this mindset does not apply. There are several factors that impact weight loss outside of the calories you take in and burn. Some folks have disabilities (some invisible) that prevent them from walking 10000+ steps a day. Some folks have illnesses where many foods cannot be consumed. There are many factors that were not considered during my coaching experience.”
Hi Chelsea! Absolutely valid points here. Coaching should be about a lot more than just calories in vs calories out. That is of course the ultimate determining factor in weight loss, but how one goes about managing their intake is where personal factors absolutely need to be taken into consideration. Lifestyle factors such as physical limitations, disabilities, aversions to certain approaches, personal history, and many others need to be considered when aiming to get someone's calorie expenditure to exceed their calorie intake.
It sounds like we missed some opportunities here, and for that I apologize! I do plan to take a look into your coaching experience personally, and I'll be looking to see where we missed things, where the gaps were, and how we could have better helped or guided you.
If you're ever willing to give us another shot, I'm confident we can take all of this as a learning lesson and make sure you have a better experience the next time around. Should you ever choose to grant us a 2nd opportunity, you can contact me personally at dylan@macrosinc.net. I'm the head of our client experience here at Macros Inc and I would see to it personally that we get you matched with a coach and provide them with all of the context here so that we can guide you better going forward.
I appreciate you taking the time to write this and thank you for the honest review! If there's anything else you'd like to add or any other comments you want to provide, my inbox is always open.
“I thought this would be a regular live connection with someone not all done online and via a very clunky app. Good Sales job asking all the right question but to me a miss sell. The first coach allocated left me feeling confused and dejected. The exercise plan felt like a cut and paste and videos to watch. New coach was allocated was great and a lot more personable, however the questions you asked and filling out didn't inspire me. I ended up loosing weight and understand tracking better but could not call this coaching. Advice giving yes but that is not coaching.”
Hey Charlotte! Thank you for the honest feedback. I'll have to look into this and see what we could have done better for you, and where we stand to improve going forward. Ultimately, nobody should feel confused, dejected, or that their training program wasn't personalized. In any case, if we did not meet your expectations about what coaching should be like, then there was room for better or more thorough communication somewhere along the way, and it sounds like we missed some of those opportunities. I'm sorry for anything less than an exceptional experience, but if you're ever willing to give us another shot in the future, we'd love the chance to try to get it right. You can also email me at any time at dylan@macrosinc.net. Thank you and we wish you the best!
Thank you, Stephanie! Appreciate the review!
Totally hear you on the check-ins. While you can check in with your coach anytime you want, and you have the weekly official check-in, one of the things that has been asked for is more frequent video check-ins with their coach. So you're definitely not the only one to express this, and we hear you loud and clear! This is something we are in the process of discussing. We're looking at how our check-ins look, the frequency of those, and how we can make it better.
As for the MyMacros+ app, I hear you on that as well. There are a lot of tutorials, resources, and guidance we can provide on how to use MyMacros+, and it does take a couple of days to get accustomed to it. But as coaches we're also there to help you navigate and make sense of the app, so I apologize if we didn't do enough to help you with the app.
I'd love to hear what else we could have done to make your experience better. When you say your experience was just "ok", that's far below our expectations for ourselves and for our clients. Send me an email to dylan@macrosinc.net and I'd love to chat a little bit more about your experience and what we could have done better. We're always trying to improve, so any extra feedback you're willing to share would be extremely valuable for us.
Thank you!
“My experience with my coach has been okay. She’s been great in helping with nutrition and has helped me learn a lot in this regards. I haven’t liked the training part, but this isn’t really her issue.
My experience with MI support and customer service has been poor. I wish things were explained better, and I had several really negative experiences. The options to “fix” things were poor, and I couldn’t ever actually talk with anyone. It was email only which is really a crappy option considering how much I’m paying as a client. I was also really disappointed in the fitness coaching. If the way these plans were done were explained to me upfront (i.e., same exercises for weeks on end), I would have never done the fitness. For me, it was a waste as this isn’t something I’m interested in.”
Hey Carrie. Thank you for this! I'll take a look into situation with the customer support team. We have a saying here that Macros Inc is a customer service company first & foremost, and we just happen to sell coaching. So a poor interaction with our customer service is definitely out of the norm, and if there's an issue that needs to be fixed, we definitely want to know about it. I appreciate the insight so I can take a look and see where we need to improve or what we need to do better.
I'm sorry to hear the training portion wasn't what you had hoped for. I'll share this with our VP of coaching and we'll look into that as well. Overall it sounds like we just needed to do a better job of communicating with you in your specific situation here, and I apologize for that.
We do take feedback like this very seriously and we always review things to see what needs to be done better or differently, so again I really do appreciate you sharing your honest review. I'll be looking into all of this and chatting with our teams about it.
If there's anything else you want to share or any other feedback you'd like to provide, my inbox is always open at dylan@macrosinc.net
“Unfortunately I didn’t get out of the experience what I was looking for. When I expressed I wanted to change coaches I was pushed not to from the account rep Monica, and fell back into the same routine of not getting what I needed (personally). Instead it was the same repetitive feedback vs how I could make changes depending on my eating habits for the day. I feel I spent a lot of money for nothing sadly. My coach was very nice and he tried in his own way- but I was def needing more.”
Hey Kit! I really appreciate the review here and for your honesty about your experience. I'm sorry it wasn't what you were looking for. If there's anything we can do to improve things and meet your expectations from here on out, I am all ears!
Regarding your request to change coaches, we do usually try to see if the client is willing to first have a talk with their current coach and resolve things, and we're happy to help facilitate that conversation between the coach & client. So I apologize if you got the impression that a coach change was completely out of the realm of possibilities. We would never deny someone of that option, but we do usually encourage giving you & your coach a chance to come together and resolve any issues first before switching to a different coach. If ultimately a client and their coach have tried to resolve things and the two parties are just not on the same page, or the client just feels it's best at that point to change coaches, we're happy to accommodate that. Again I apologize if you were given a different impression. That's on us to do a better job of conveying our intention in those situations.
I'm going to have one of our team members reach out to you today to discuss how we can best help you moving forward, find out more about what you're needing, and hopefully be on a better path to meeting your expectations.
You can expect an email from a Macros Inc team member shortly.
If you need anything from me in the meantime, my inbox is always open, so don't hesitate to contact me at dylan@macrosinc.net
“The coach was fine. Program didn’t move the needle for me at all. Definitely a waste of time and money for me. Even with no results the program didn’t change. Finally got to the point where it was wearing on my mental health. When I said I wanted to quit I just got harassed about continuing.”
Hi Amber! I'm truly sorry to hear this. I know it's frustrating to feel like you didn't make any progress and that you wasted time & money on something. I'm so sorry if we didn't meet your expectations or couldn't help you get to where you wanted to go.
I'm also sorry if you felt pressured into continuing your coaching. Our intent is never to annoy someone or make them feel harassed, but rather we just try to ascertain if there's anything wrong with your coaching or if there's anything we could do better before we cancel someone's subscription. Again I apologize if the message came across the wrong way. We're just here to help and we take helping people very seriously!
If there's anything we can do for you at this point, or if there's ever a time down the road you feel you'd be willing to give us a 2nd chance, please let me know and I will do everything within my power to make sure you have a better experience next time around. I'm available to contact whenever you need at dylan@macrosinc.net
I'll also send you a personal email just so you have my contact info handy and so that we have another avenue open for dialogue regarding how your coaching experience went.
- Dylan Miller, CCO of Macros Inc
“My coaching experience started out strong but as the week's went by I did not feel connected to my coach. Being a woman, having a male coach was challenging. In addition, his life experiences did not contain the same things as mine - full time job, 2 kids, etc. Lastly, the difference in time zone made communication difficult.”
Hey Audrey! Appreciate the honest review here. I want to apologize that you didn't feel connected to your coach. I can understand how it might be more difficult to relate to a male coach vs a female, and especially about being a mother trying to juggle a full-time job while raising kiddos! None of that is an easy task. I can imagine having someone in your shoes to relate to would have made things a bit easier. We have coaches all over the world, so matching you with someone closer to your time zone shouldn't have been an issue, and I apologize if it was. I'm going to look into your situation and contact you personally. If you're ever interested in returning to coaching to give things another shot, I would see to it personally that you get matched with a female coach if that's your preference, and someone who's in your time zone or very close to it. Looking forward to chatting further to see if there's anything I can do to help.
- Dylan
“It was horrible right at the start. I signed up for complete coaching and got a coach who was a joke she had no nutrition advice or info that helped she also screwed up my workout plan and it took a month for her to realize and by that time I asked for a new coach. My new coach is amazing and very knowledgeable which was what I needed. But I would never recommend this as its way too pricey for anything online and not in person. I didnt lose any weight”
Hi Jodie! Thank you for the honest feedback. I’m genuinely sorry for how things started. That isn’t the standard we hold ourselves to, nor the experience you should have had. I am glad that we were able to get you matched with a different coach though! It sounds like your new coach is a much better fit and is providing what you were looking for. I know everyone has a different budget, but we really try to over-deliver based on the price points we offer. Our hope is that the value you’re getting from coaching far exceeds what we charge. If there’s any way we can add more value to your coaching or anything else we can provide that we’re not currently providing, please let us know! I can see that you’re still a client with us and are continuing to work with your coach, so I’m confident that you’ll start to see weight loss and make progress toward your goals! Sometimes it just takes finding the right approach, and that’s something your coach can absolutely help you with. Again if there’s anything else we can help you with or any way we can deliver more value to help you toward your goals, don’t hesitate to let us know! You can also contact me anytime at dylan@macrosinc.net. I'm the Chief Commercial Officer for Macros Inc and I'm always here to help!