Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

On the Beach Reviews

3.4 Rating 1,245 Reviews
61 %
of reviewers recommend On the Beach
Visit Website

Write Your review

On the Beach 1 star review on 5th November 2024
Jon Hopson
On the Beach 1 star review on 25th September 2024
Mark
On the Beach 1 star review on 6th June 2024
Mr G
On the Beach 1 star review on 18th May 2024
Terry
On the Beach 1 star review on 11th March 2024
Fck Onbech Company
On the Beach 1 star review on 22nd February 2024
Anonymous
On the Beach 1 star review on 22nd February 2024
Anonymous
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Shocking service. I booked my holiday after searching and realised that my departure and return airports were different? Why on earth would I want that? Surely that should be something you would specify as an abnormal request? I straight away called you and my cordless phone went flat after being on hold for 2.5 hours. I got charged £47 pounds for the pleasure of a call that never even got through to anyone. You gave me £20 back which I feel is an insult. I certainly will not be using you again or recommending you to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Nick, I am sorry to hear that you could not get through to us, our lines are busier than usual due to current government announcements. I can see that the airport issue has now been rectified via the messaging system on your booking, sorry for any inconvenience. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
as below! PLEASE PLEASE do not book with this company they are FALSE ADVERTISING FOR THEIR TESTS NO WHERE in the t and cs does it say ONLY THE RETURN 2 day test is supplied which IS NOT EVEN NEEDED. if you are not double vaccinated they do not provide ANYTHING. THEIR MARKETING IS AMBIGUOUS MISLEADING AND VERY VEDY VERY DANGEROUS SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE GIVEN THIS FEEDBACK AND THEY DO NOT Care. i have complained as no where does it say no pre departure tests are included - these were in sept then they changed 30th sept and DID NOT IPDATE AND Tc and Cs or any advertising!!! ALLLLL ADVERTISING says testS. PLURALISED. TESTsssss when in actuality you get ONE - and that is it!!! HORRIFIC customer service who refused to even email me and told me i can complain and someone will get back to me in 56 days, please please stay away i WISH i had listened to everyone who said this!! THOUSANDS down the drain!!!! also worth noting they changed their flights without telling us AND refuse a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, we are so sorry to hear of any confusion caused regarding the testing. I can see from your booking that your issues were dealt with and are now resolved, if you do require any further assistance, please send us a DM and we will be able to assist you. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Frauds | false advertising | use Love Holidays instead Warning to all those booking holidays- the free Covid 19 tests they are (falsely) advertising are only for double vaccinated passengers -the thing is, double vaxxed passengers don’t need PCR tests when returning from the countries the offer is applicable to, and the “free” tests they are offering are the lateral flow tests which can be accessed for free from the Government website anyway. Complete and utter false / misleading advertising which has been reported to trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, sorry that there was any confusion in regards to the free tests. Our T&C's did state that the tests would be provided based on the government's rules at that time regarding testing. Unfortunately, there were so many scenarios that we had to cover these within our FAQ's section on our site. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Just want to pre warn the public that I spent alot of money with on the beach for a October half term holiday abroad and am now very anxoius about losing my money as one of my family members have contracted covid. so now i am looking to implement my insurance cover and Theres no reasurance from "On the beach" or and the insurance company that they are heavily involved with is just one long application form that once again does nothing to reassure you. We wre originally told that if we cancelled the holiday before the 16th of October it will be fine but we call On The Beach today on the 15th to be told our monies were paid to the hotel this morning? I will improve my review if this turns out well for just an average family who wanted some fun in the sun together. If i am not treated fairly I will go to the press.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Stewart, we do hope your family member is OK and sorry you were unable to get to the beach this time. Don't worry you should be fully covered by your insurance policy. As informed please contact them to claim any lost monies. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
The advertised holidays are actually not available to book there and then and this is not made clear on the website, they say it is, but it isn’t. Don’t bother wasting your time as there is no guarantee that the holiday you have chosen is going to materialise. Thought I’d booked my holiday, payment details entered etc, then got email stating it was not confirmed, got the call the next day, sure enough, the chosen hotel was already fully booked. They then try to find you alternatives at a different price!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. As we're a third party travel agent and book through suppliers, when you book through us you initially place an order. In most cases, we can make the booking you see online and this gets shipped straight away. If not, it goes to pending as the availability may have changed with the airline or hotel supplier. A pending orders agent will contact you advising of this. At that point, we can either book the holiday or cancel the order. Prices and availability are at the discretion of the suppliers, so unfortunately we have no control over this. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
They do not give instant confirmation like other companies do. Had to wait 2 1/2 days to be told my booking had been cancelled! They are still selling the exact same package but now £100s more. They say they will phone you if a problem, to discuss but they don't. I got an email around midnight to say booking is cancelled. Can't get through on the phone, its constantly engaged. Absolute rubbish customer service. Stick with Tui or Jet2 at least you know what you're getting and no added extras.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. As we're a third party travel agent and book through suppliers, when you book through us you initially place an order. In most cases, we can make the booking you see online and this gets shipped straight away. If not, it goes to pending as the availability may have changed with the airline or hotel supplier. Availability is at the discretion of the suppliers, so unfortunately we have no control over this. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Free covid tests eh? The 2 PCR tests you sent have saved us maybe £50 each, we still have to buy 2x pre flight tests and 2x8 day tests ! nearly trippling the overall cost of the holiday to Corfu meaning we can no longer afford to go and have just lost the money we've already paid. thanks so much on the beach.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Glen, I can see you have already been in touch with us via Manage your booking about this query and we have advised that our offer is based on passengers being fully vaccinated. I am sorry that you were unaware of this information. Thanks - Natasha
Posted 3 years ago
Please do not use these guys, save your hard earned money and go with a proper company. Onthebeach are complete bandits!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear your comments. Do you have a booking with us that you would like us to look into further to assist you with any queries relating to it or issues you have had? If so can you send us a message on Manage your booking to help. Thanks - Natasha
Posted 3 years ago
Booked a flight from Heathrow airport and absolutely nothing telling me what terminal.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Viv, I am sorry our paperwork did not provide the terminal information for your flight. As this information may be subject to change we would always recommend checking this on the airport website for the most upto date information. Thanks - Natasha
Posted 3 years ago
I've booked twice now , with live pricing also screen shot of the price , and both times I've had OTB ring saying the same excuse that the rooms have been taken so the new price is £287, WTF
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. As we're a third party travel agent and book through suppliers, when you book through us you initially place an order. In most cases, we can make the booking you see online and this gets shipped straight away. If not, it goes to pending as the availability may have changed with the airline or hotel supplier. A pending orders agent will contact you advising of this. At that point, we can either book the holiday or cancel the order. Prices and availability are at the discretion of the suppliers, so unfortunately we have no control over this. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Worse service ever. IMPOSSIBLE TO CHECH IN AS THEY ALLOCATED ME WITH A MADE UP EMAIL ADDRESS. WHICH MADE ONLINE CHECK IN A COMPLETE NIGHTMARE. You can,t speak to anyone by phone if you have a problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am very sorry to hear that you had difficulties logging in to your flights. The reason for occasionally using an allocated email address is because a lot of our customers have already got personal accounts directly with the airlines. As we book the flights independently they would not show on our customer's airline account when they log in. We attach all login details and instructions within our flight voucher which we issue at the point of booking the holiday. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
MIS-SOLD - Alcohol NOT included in ALL-INCLUSIVE! We were not made aware that Magaluf has a new law that stops all-inclusive hotels from serving alcoholic drinks at the bar. This is not stated in the hotel description on your website. On your site it states the following; "All Inclusive Food & Drink ## Please note that the All Inclusive concept includes a maximum of 3 alcoholic drinks per meal. ## Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks in main restaurant Self-service drinks during meals A choice of drinks from bar 11:00 - 23:00 (50% discount on premium and imported brands)" Now to me, this states that a customer cannot get more than 3 drinks per meal BUT there's a selection of drinks available at the bar which there was not avaialble with all-inclusive! Now, after leaving the house at 2 am, getting to the hotel to find out this news, shocked is an understatement. After waiting for 2-years to go abroad and then hearing that we cannot have any alcoholic drinks on our stay was so disappointing. We were offered a £150 voucher but this does not come close to what we had to pay for drinks every day after being mis-sold an all-inclusive package!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi James, I am sorry to hear that your holiday was not as expected. The new all-inclusive laws were changed in 2021 but were announced in 2020. I can see that your query has now been dealt with. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Worst company going ! Me and my wife booked a trip to Crete We arrived at stansted with plenty of time to unwind. We went to check in with Ryanair but told we had to do it online we had tried this on a number of occasions with no luck the staff there were very helpful they stated on the beach should not be using Ryanair due to there check in policy ( please Ryanair terms and condition if going through online agents) and after 1.5hrs managed to get checked in. We arrived at the hotel which was all inclusive the bar open at 11am and closed at 10pm worst lager in the world and only ouzo and raki (no other spirts) orange squash and a couple of other soft drinks (bottled water chargeable). The food was something out of this world not in a good way ! Same food for breakfast lunch and dinner for Severn days. Finally our time to be freed from jail ! We made a number of attempts to contact ON THE BEACH to find out our time for the transfer with no luck. One hour before check out and 6 hours before our flight reception told use our transfer had arrived my wife was in the shower I was packing we said we would be ready in 10 minutes but the transfer left leaving use with £100 taxi transfer plus ON THE BEACH £40 fee already paid. On arrival at the airport we were charged the Ryanair £55 each to check in (Ryanair policy) do not use ON THE BEACH) now a ruined holiday and a fight when we get home to get our money back .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Mark, I am so sorry to hear of the issues you experienced before and during your holiday. Ryanair have introduced some extra verification for some bookings booked via a third party travel agent however we are not booking flights illegally at all. Please can you send a formal complaint to customercare@onthebeach.co.uk so this can all be fully investigated fully and a response sent within 28 days. Thanks - Natasha
Posted 3 years ago
I would just like to let you know NEVER book with this deceptive company. They are dishonest people and give you false information and do NOT do what they say they will do.They do not honour your package holiday that you book , and be careful if you book on line as the price you think you are paying is incorrect, their referral team will come back to you and tell that since you booked this & that has gone up in price and con you. DO NOT USE THEM.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. As we're a third party travel agent and book through suppliers, when you book through us you initially place an order. In most cases, we can make the booking you see online and this gets shipped straight away. If not, it goes to pending as the availability may have changed with the airline or hotel supplier. A pending orders agent will contact you advising of this. At that point, we can either book the holiday or cancel the order. Prices and availability are at the discretion of the suppliers, so unfortunately we have no control over this. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Like so many others cancelled due to pandemic took my £600 deposit £7 refund will never use these again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kevin, sorry to hear that you decided to cancel your holiday. We appreciate that there is uncertainty regarding travel but unfortunately as flights are non-refundable from the point of booking, we can only refund these if the airline cancels the flights which they did not in your scenario. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
Appalling the amount of complaints with this company My son cancelled his holiday 8 months before due date They cleared his bank account saying he was liable for flights Emails get bounced back Looking at other reviews it seems they have a lot of money which should be returned to customers DO NOT BOOK with this company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kate, I'm sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us, i have sent you a message for more information. Thanks - Kay
Posted 3 years ago
My holiday got cancelled at the start of Covid and I have yet to receive the rest of my payment, there are so many fake reviews over on Trust Pilot that it makes me skeptical about trusting reviews from them in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Paila, I hope that the issue has now been rectified. If you could please send us a DM, we can certainly look into this for you? Thanks, Gary
Posted 3 years ago
My partner and I have been having issues with On The Beach and their conduct is simply appalling. We booked a couples holiday for early August and a family holiday for late August to Crete. Quick overview - Stopped selling holidays for June, July and August but if you booked with them. They refuse to refund or cancel the booking. - They refuse to answer written or verbal complaints unless you have already gone on holiday (which hasn't been possible). They simply ignore emails and letters sent to them. - There TrustPilot account is full of hundreds of 5 star reviews they got in the middle of lockdown. We became concerned when OTB stated they would no longer sell holidays for June, July and August in May. I complained in writing and requested a refund on the basis that they are expecting me to pay for holidays, that they are refusing to sell. They are using the conflicting Government advice on the Amber list between DtL and FCDO, the advice is do not travel for leisure. The response I got back was "Please note that this email address is for customers who are submitting a post travel complaint only – we are unable to respond directly to individual booking queries." At the time no one had travelled internationally for over a year on holiday. When I went to leave a review online I discovered they have inundated Trust Pilot with 5 star reviews. The CMA is cracking down on false reviews. OTB has thousands of 5 star reviews during lockdown. Which is completely nonsense, they are clearly fake reviews Tui has 8k reviews and 1.9 stars. OTB has 23k+ with 4.1 stars. To be clear they do not accept complaints written via the messenger. Formal complaints must be submitted in writing via email (which they ignore) and they do not respond. They have withdrawn from their ombudsman and state they will not refund flights even against government advice unless there is a specific law
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
My son cancelled his holiday, so no booking showing in manage my account, has had £400 taken from his bank account, unable to contact anyone at On The Beach via phone or email!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Booked holiday to majorca hotel not even opened impossible to get in touch standard
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
On the Beach is rated 3.4 based on 1,245 reviews