Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

Gousto Reviews

2.5 Rating 721 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
2.5
Based on 721 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Gousto Reviews
Visit Website

Write Your review

Gousto 1 star review on 20th May 2024
Lee
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 19th November 2022
Anonymous
12
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Ordered three recipes to try this out- a chicken salad (most of salad ingredients were missing), burgers (buns completely missing) and a Sri Lankan chicken curry (chicken was missing). Not a way to encourage me to use them again- I can't make any of the meals.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Gousto use Hermes ( now called evri) as one of their couriers! Say no more! I ordered 5 times and only received 2 deliveries that came by yodel, the other 3 were Hermes and never arrived. Moving over to hello fresh who do not use Hermes.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Allegedly ordered a box, they were unable to take payment. I am on holiday and can't take delivery - Gousto refused to cancel even though not due for another few days.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Like so many others started off good but three times now i have had a problem with there delivery company that they use YODEL 2x they said my box was delivered it wasnt and now i have just been told that my box that is due today wont be here until tomorrow which is no use as I am back to work so off to the shops I go, there customer service is terrible you get no where with them so unfortuntly this was there last chance i will be canceling and going to another food subscription company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It started so well! Great food, great recipes for a good few weeks.Then the next box was late arriving. Ok , no biggie. The next week I got an email for the next box saying it couldn't be delivered on the right day. A bit more annoying. Then for the next box I got text on the Sunday saying that the delivery company had the box but by Tuesday it still hadn't arrived. I rang Gousto-they didn't know where is was, but they'd check and email me. Thirty mins later I got an email explaining that they were sorry but they couldn't offer me an NHS discount. I hadn't even ask for a discount. I don't even work for the NHS. I rang the call centre and they said they didn't know where the box was and couldn't guarantee the quality of the ingredients if/when it arrived. Gousto is supposed to be a service to make my life easier, not harder. Sadly, I'm had to cancel my subscription.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very unhappy with customer service we have been charged twice this week and have sent proof with a screenshot of my statement but they have still not refunded money. Received email that made no sense and have had to ring again today and still not sorted .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The cancellation button clearly doesn’t work, as it was the second time I cancelled and it arrived. Anyway I cancel was cancel my direct debit, now they’re chasing me for a payment. I don’t have time for this kind of nonsense, such an inconvenience
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Box arrived one day late, then was missing most of one of the recipes ingredients. Then i weighed the meat which was more than 10% underweight. The i had to throw away x2 steaks as they were so tough i couldnt even feed them to the dog. Customer service refused to refund for the inedible meal. Then they have the cheek to charge me x2 amounts on my credit card for orders i have no made. Its criminal. Stay away from guosto they used to be good but now its completely scandalous.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely awful customer service nothing but trouble. Been charged twice for one box and cannot get a refund!! Do not use Gusto. Tried live chat, email and telephone. Ordered a box for my sons birthday as he’s at Uni. Box didn’t arrive. But was charged. Ordered another box the next week to see if this worked, but was charged again!!! Cannot get the refund
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Boxes arrive late at 9pm or next day, spoilt. YOu end up having to phone the delivery company then Gousto several times to try and resolve. Cannot get a refund for the life of me. Three weeks in and hours wasted on the chat and phone to a foreign call centre. Currently on my 5th chat to get a full box refund. Have been promised refunds and discount for short life food and missing items previously, have discovered that my account was not credited for these either. Utter shambles! Have changed to Hello Fresh, deliveries arrived , so far, on time with good customer service. Really liked the idea of Gousto and had a couple of good boxes. Just a shame they cannot get this right as other companies clearly can and have now got my business. Until they sort our their infra structure AVOID at all costs! p.s I am still in a chat as they are referring me to the finance team, excuse me as I don't hold my breath!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
If I could give them less than 1 star I would. I cancelled my order and two weeks later have been charged for a box that I don't want. Online chat is awful and the customer service is shocking.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
If I could leave less I would… - Consistently left items out meaning my convenient way of skipping the supermarket shop meant I had to continuously go to the supermarket. - Repeatedly sent a week’s worth of food (four meals) that had to be eaten within 2 or 3 days due to short dates. - Freshness of vegetables is terrible. Carrots turn black and shrivel within a couple of days. - Won’t refund, simply apply credit when this happens even though which attempts to trap you into keeping a subscription. Customer service is TERRIBLE via chat. I’ve cancelled my subscription and I’m left out of pocket because they’ll apply credit to my account but won’t refund me money. Honestly, just avoid. Disappointing on every level.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Great recipes, 99% of the time it was brilliant. But unfortunately an order containing rotten chicken has put me off for life. I can't order from somewhere that supplies rotten chicken. The veg and herbs have always been a bit close to turning but, I can accept that. Not chicken!! And what compensation was I offered I hear you ask?! A £6 credit to my account. They didn't even refund the entire meal. Bye gousto, you've just lost yet another weekly customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We placed our first order with Gousto, excited to try some new meals, but the box never arrived. We later noticed that we had been charged twice, one at the discounted price, and once at full price. We are STILL waiting on our refund, despite being reassured multiple times that this has been processed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Box didn’t turn up so contacted customer services who said it’s still in their warehouse and they won’t be sending it out. So no box at all this week. Terrible customer service not only no dinner tonight but no dinner for 3 nights so now have to go shopping again. Very poor Gousto not even an attempt to rectify the problem
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The recipes are nice but the chicken they send is rancid 🤮 gave gousto the benefit of the doubt last week with the rancid chicken, but same thing again this week, such a pity. Will be trying hello fresh.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We only use fresh, great quality, 100% British chicken, beef, pork or lamb in our boxes. It’s Red Tractor assured too, meaning it's traceable, safe and farmed with care – ensuring high-quality standards from farm to plate. I am so sorry that you have not enjoyed the chicken you've received recently. If you have not already done so please get in touch via the 'Help' section of your Gousto account so we can help get this resolved for you. I hope going forward we can demonstrate the usual high standards we aim for. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
the chicken provided is disgusting! i love everything about this company, i love the meals and every other meat provided but the chicken is so awful! it’s been three months and it’s gotten to the point where i’ve ordered a chicken dish, thrown the chicken away and bought my own? it’s not cost effective, not environmentally friendly or company decent? close to giving up hope
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us this review. We appreciate the time you've taken to do so. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed the chicken recently. I'd just like to assure you that we only use fresh, 100% British chicken, beef, pork or lamb in our boxes. It’s Red Tractor assured too, meaning it's traceable, safe and farmed with care – ensuring high-quality standards from farm to plate. We do take these issues very seriously and report everything to our warehouse manager, who can then discuss further with our suppliers when necessary. Thank you for providing this feedback I will ensure that it is reviewed by the correct team to look into this further for us. Bst wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
We used to love Gousto, but they have gone downhill in the last few months: Damaged ingredients - very little care is taken with the packing of the boxes - for some reason, the fresh produce - vegetables, herbs etc. are placed at the bottom of the box with the heavier items on top, which squashes them. Makes no sense. Often, I've had to nip to the shop to replace the items, which kind of defeats the object! Quality of the ingredients - not always as fresh as they should be - often mouldy and inedible. Missing ingredients - I've lost count of the boxes that have arrived with missing items - you can request a small refund for these, but it doesn't compensate for the inconvenience. Late delivery - the last few weeks, our boxes have arrived hours late, e.g. delivery slot is 4 - 6 pm but arrives at 8 pm or later! There is no notification of the delay, so we're never sure whether to wait or make another plan for supper. I have cut them some slack the last couple of weeks, but when our box still hadn't arrived by 7 pm yesterday - I gave them a call. The customer agent promised she would find out where the box was and email an update...still waiting! Such a shame we used to love Gousto, but we may now swap to one of the other food subscription companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry to hear that you've not been impressed with your recent boxes from us. This is not the standard of service you should expect from us. We always do our best to ensure that all of your ingredients are delivered safely and correctly although sometimes these issues do still occur. We need to be made aware so we can investigate these problems either with the warehouse team/ operations manager or if need be the suppliers too. In regards to the lateness of your delivery, every box should be delivered between 8 am & 7 pm on the expected day. If your box is not with you by 7 pm, please do get in touch as this is not acceptable and goes against our agreement with our couriers, which will need to be raised and investigated with them by us. If Your box arrives after 7 pm, please be aware that all our boxes are designed to keep every ingredient fresh and suitable for consumption until 10 pm on the day of delivery. Again I do apologise sincerely for the recent issues you have seen. I hope going forward we are allowed to demonstrate the usual high standard of service we aim for. Best wishes, Jodie - the Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
Sad to have left Gousto after approx 18 months. Pretty much every box has been damaged for the last few weeks, with seemingly fresh ingredients arriving mouldy. I get that damage can occur in transport, but it doesn’t go mouldy in a few hours. It’s a shame it’s gone downhill - they were incredibly useful during lockdown, but maybe a change of courier AND a rethink of box packing (fragile items going in last, maybe) would tempt me back.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. I'm so sorry that you found the ingredients were not as fresh as they should have been, the quality of our ingredients is very important to us so I will make sure that this is reported to our operations team to review with the suppliers. Again I apologise that we've let you down recently, I hope in the future we get the opportunity to demonstrate the usual high standards of service you should expect from us. Best wishes, Jodie - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
tons of packaging, green leaves going off, sliced veg is oxidising and amount of washing up is the same - having 4 meals arrive with 2 days to use by isnt helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Gary, thank you for your review. This issue is important to us too, that's why last year we removed over 100 tonnes of plastic from our boxes, which you can read about on our blog. And we’re not stopping there! Starting this year, we’re tackling a new challenge to make all Gousto-branded packaging reusable, recyclable or compostable by the end of 2022. Sorry to hear the ingredients received were unsatisfactory and the shelf life not suitable for your recipes. We would like to look into this further if you could please get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto is rated 2.5 based on 721 reviews