Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

Gousto Reviews

2.5 Rating 721 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend Gousto
2.5
Based on 721 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Gousto Reviews
Visit Website

Write Your review

Gousto 1 star review on 20th May 2024
Lee
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 3rd March 2024
Vanesa Verna
Gousto 1 star review on 19th November 2022
Anonymous
12
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Today is the last straw. Got delivered a box of recipes we didn’t order because we forgot to order in time. Last time we forgot, nothing came, which was fine, our bad. The items delivered today are nothing like what we would have chosen. I called up to complain as we weren’t given notice. And for the second week they turned up extremely late in the day, so we lose a day to eat them. The Call centre is NOT in the UK, by the way, that is a total lie. Anyway, the robotic customer service chap, in god knows where was on repeat, saying he could only give me a 30% refund - I said come get it, we don’t want this food. This is NOT good enough. I will be cancelling my subscription- we’ve never been given a penny credit for all the missing ingredients either…. Will try a different provider. I’ll also tell my neighbours not to bother too, they were both going to sign up if we had a good experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Gousto, this is certainly not the service we want to provide. Gousto is a flexible subscription, and you can choose to have an active subscription or paused as this will allow you to order on an ad-hoc basis. I would like to look into this further for you, and ensure your account is on the best settings for you to prevent this from happening again. Please do get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
The meals are good, but service is terrible. More often than not my box was late or with missing ingredients. Often there were 4 days worth of meals that all had to be used within 3 days, and veg is old and limp. Bread products are usually mouldy within 2 days of arriving. 2 weeks in a row my box has completely failed to turn up. This isn't a DPD problem as both times Gousto have failed to get it to DPD. I've just cancelled my subscription, but here's the real kick in the teeth - when you have a missing or damaged ingredient they only give you credit off your next box. You have already paid for those ingredients, but if you cancel your subscription you lose that credit and they won't refund it. So basically if you want your money back for goods they've failed to deliver then you have to order another box.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kate, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm very sorry to hear about the experience you've had with us - this is definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. It looks like you haven't received your subscription box from us, I can appreciate how frustrating this must have been! We'd like to take a closer look into this, could you reach out to us on www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact by selecting either Trustpilot/Google reviews in the drop down. Best wishes, Elina - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Trying to cancel my account. Your customer service people were rude and did not listen. Two boxes on their way which will be wasted as I'm not there. Also taking money from my account when I'd cancelled. Totally out of order. I shall be reporting you to trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, I'm so sorry to hear this has happened and understand how disappointing this may be. We'd like to take a look into this for you so please get in touch on: www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact Best wishes, Ashlee - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
If you for any reason forget to order in time you get sent whatever crap hasn’t been bought that is nothing like your previous orders and fingers crossed you can eat 3 in one day as they will be out of date if not
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Hannah, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear of the issues you have had. It does sound like you have received a subscription box. I would love to be able to look into this further for you but to do this I will need some additional information to access your account. Please click ‘Get in touch’ on Gousto.co.uk/Help and select either ‘Trustpilot/Googlereviews’ in the drop-down menu. Please leave us your email address, postcode and name on the account and we can get this sorted for you. Once again I am sorry for the inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Penny - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
My first box arrived and it was missing lamb mince, not so bad as I had some in the freezer. My second box arrived and upon checking, I am missing spring greens, peas, potatoes, chicken and prawns. This means out of the 4 meals I have ordered, I can only make one of them. What a joke, when all you get is a few quid refund and then have to go back out to the shops to get the missing stuff. Will not use again and will be going back to Hello Fresh.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Chris, Thanks for your review and I'm really sorry that you have had repeated issues in your last few boxes. This is absolutely not the level of service we expect our customers to receive. Could you please send me a message with your postcode, email address and full name linked to your Gousto account, by clicking ‘Get in touch’ on https://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact and select ‘Trustpilot/Review’ from the drop-down menu, I'll be able to help resolve this for you. Thanks! Zara - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Order should have been delivered Tuesday it's now late Wednesday still no food . Fuming. Had to order take away again. Poor service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jess, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not receive your recent delivery, this is very disappointing and I would like to look into this further to ensure we can prevent this from happening again and see what occurred on this occasion. Please do get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help and I will be happy to assist you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Received our first box last week had the diy burgers on the Friday now me and my partner both have food poisoning!!! Will be cancelling my subscription and not ordering again!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear the first experience has not been great and caused sickness for you both, we take these matters very seriously so if you could get in touch with us so we can investigate, please go to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help and send an email advising of the sickness and include my name. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
I have been ordering from them for a while and when I started the boxes were very good and loved them, however for the past couple of months, things have been missing and damaged when they arrive, and now food as been arriving and going off days after receiving it and to top it all off my boyfriend got FOOD POISING from the meat that was in the box. He went to the doctors as he was ill for over a week and they will be contacting environmental health to look into this further. I have cancelled my subscription and will not be using them again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Courteney, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear the quality of ingredients you have been receiving has declined and not been the same from your first experience with us, this is very disappointing to hear and we want to assure you we're doing everything we can to provide you with the freshest quality ingredients. I am also sorry to hear your boyfriend has become unwell from one of our meals, we take these situations very seriously and would like to discuss this further. If you could please get in touch with us so we can investigate this by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help - sending an email and advising of the sickness and my name so I can pick this up as soon as possible. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
After experiencing another poor product quality delivery and experienced the very poor customer care I decided to research what others have experienced. Being fair to Gousto the delivery and products have been very good good until recently however I am presuming with business growth the building blocks are not in place. We now have had continual issues with quality and unfortunately when raised by the app their automated process does not seem to red flag repeated issues so they can be fixed. After taking up the offer of live chat when I went to pause subscription the colleague followed the script by apologising but did not offer a solution and closed the the call by an automated good or bad interaction question, not ideal when you are complaining the lack of human intervention, not the colleagues fault, its the system that generates exception reports that have no follow up actions to fix. Anyway subscription now paused, disappointed to feel the need to explore others based on the previous good experience of Gousto. The old adage, great service leads to recommendations, they would not need to offer financial incentives to introduce new customers if they fixed the problems reported.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Steve, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear what you like about Gousto and where we can improve. We are sorry you have felt the quality of the produce in your recent boxes have declined and we're working on this with our suppliers and due to the weather changes we have to bare this in mind. We always want to provide the freshest quality ingredients and so sorry we have let you down. As we continue to expand we will be working on these issues and your feedback is taken on board and flagged with the relevant departments for continuous improvement and development. If there is anything else we can help with please let us know by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Second non delivery in a month. No message. No notice. Not even acknowledgment that it was missed. The app says delivered. We have infant children and need to be able to plan our week without wondering whether half the food we require (and we’re charged for) will show up. And then we have to chase down the company for any type of action or acknowledgment. This is very poor. Gousto have obviously increased their customer base during lockdown but the service has gone down massively as a result.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Frank, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not receive your recent delivery or have any notification from us. This is disappointing and we do not want to let you down, so would like to look into this further for you, if you could please get in touch with us by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
First order placed and promised delivery of yesterday claimed to have been delivered by Yodel at 4.03pm. We were home but nothing was delivered and our Ring doorbell and also the home CCTV clearly show its not been delivered as stated. Very poor to start and very much doubt will order again even if this bothers to show up
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not receive your first order with us, this is certainly not the service we expect to provide. I would like to look into this further for you and chase this with our courier, please do get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely awful, ordered 3 meals for 2 this week and every meal was tasteless, poor quality and not a patch on hello fresh! Would never order again really grim and overpriced for the shabby ingredients…Avoid people!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy the meals, but do appreciate you giving Gousto a go! We understand not for everyone and appreciate your comments. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Customer care should be renamed as Customer Careless1 Not only are the ingredients very bad quality the meat absolutely stinks especially the chicken which would definitely have caused food poisoning if eaten. The eat by dates are 2/3 days after delivery and that’s for 4 meals, I was told by Gousto eat them in the 3 days then and I should have read the description before ordering. The vegetables are virtually rotten and mouldy. I could go on but what’s the point. I got nowhere when I phoned and in a roundabout way was told very bluntly I was stuck with them. Absolutely disgusting products and absolutely worse customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Dave, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced and the quality of produce not being up to standards. Please be assured that you have full control over your account should you wish to pause or cancel at any time. I understand our team have been in touch on another platform, however if you still require any further help please go to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help or our customer care line is 02030111002. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto non delivery on 30/8/21. Yet another issue with them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Michael, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about your recent delivery not arriving. We would like to look into this further for you, if you could please get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Within 6 months I have had 4 boxes not delivered (even though the app states "delivered", possibly help with stats reading well?!). Each time I was offered the price of one meal as credit, all I really want is a box the next day as the family meals have been planned around this. I escalated my complaint but was never contacted. With the latest missed box Gousto actually knew about an issue yet did not email me even though they had emailed other customers. I phoned to complain and again escalate my issue to be told I would be contacted the next day, 8 days later still no contact. Oh, and still no refund. When I eventually recieve my refund my account will be closed. Shocking customer service, Hello Fresh a much better alternative.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Ben, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced with your recent deliveries. I am also sorry these concerns have not been dealt with appropriately and you are still awaiting a suitable outcome. I would like to look into this further for you to ensure everything is resolved. If you could please get in touch by going to http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help and using the review drop down and stating my name. Thank you. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Had contacted Gusto and paused my subscription for one week as out of home for a week. Customer service asked me to place my order latest by Sunday with no mention that the cut off time was 12 afternoon. Travelled back home and logged on to Gusto to see that a box has already been ordered and the money taken out. Called up customer service and told them I was not happy with the box selection as don’t need vegetarian options. They have offered me 50% discount on the box but I donot have the option of changing the selection made on my behalf by Gusto.I order non vegetarian options for my son and husband cause I don’t cook fish. If I was informed by the customer service that 12 noon was cutoff , I would have acted accordingly. I have terminated my account with Gusto and am very disappointed .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Priya, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am really sorry to hear this. We would have sent a welcome email when you signed up with us explaining the whole process and providing you with key information such as the cut-off dates and times as well as what happens if you miss the cut-off point. Unfortunately, we would not have been able to make any amendments at this stage as the order would have locked into place. I do apologise for this. If there is anything further that you would like to discuss with us, please get in touch through http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact and we will be able to help. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team.
Posted 3 years ago
My partner ordered from gousto today. Box did not arrive. E- mailed them, said they wold get back to me. Never did!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm truly sorry to hear that you have not received your box and that you did not receive a follow-up email. This is definitely not the standard of service that we aim to provide. I would like to investigate this further. If you could please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’, mention Reviews.io and my name, you’ll come through to me. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Had a box delivered whilst out, which was left at the front door, on the street. Have written and spoken to Gousto, on five separate occasions about this. No response! Customer careless!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear this! This is definitely not the standard of service that we aim to provide. I would like to investigate this for you and get to the bottom of what has happened. Can you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email’, please mention Reviews.io and my name, you’ll come through to me. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely shocking service! Been with Gousto for +2 years. Used to have my delivery on Sundays (pre-pandemic) - had regular issues with missing ingredients. Thought it was just a problem with their weekend packing staff. When the pandemic hit, I've switched to a Tuesday delivery, which was provided by Yodel - I raised my concerns straight away, but was assured that Yodel is much better now. And for a time it was OK. Boxes were delivered very late (1700-1800) , but at least the would arrive. The past month I had issues where the boxes would not be delivered at all and marked "left in safe space" or "put through the letter box" - as I am working from home, there wasn't even a delivery attempt. Every time I would call the customer service team, I would be promised a call-back - that would never happen. After a few hours I would have to call back myself. One occasion I was sent a picture of some random garden where the box was left and had to go out and snatch the box out of the garden from some random person on a street close-by. On other occasions the boxes would just vanish with no picture from the courier. No actual investigation from Gousto side has been done. So done with this company and the inconvenience this is causing...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Seb, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can't apologise enough for the disruption you've had to your Gousto boxes from missing ingredients previously to your orders not being delivered to you correctly. As you know from your years as a loyal customer, this is not our usual level of service. We're doing everything we can to overcome these challenges, and we really appreciate your patience. I’d really like to discuss your comments further, so could you please go to this link http://www.gousto.co.uk/get-help/contact. You can then click on ‘Contact us by email', please mention Reviews.io and my name, you’ll come through to me. Best wishes, Klaidas - The Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
SCAM!!! TAKE MONEY OUT OF YOUR ACCOUNT WITHOUT PLACING AN ORDER SCAM!!! We have had 2-3 Gousto boxes and the quality of produce is pitiful. Some items go out of date in a very short space of time and portion sizes (especially the meat) are pitiful. We have now been charged by Gousto for a box that we hadn't ordered. We contacted the customer service who were by no means helpful and simply told us that we had placed the order which is 100% false. Terrible Food, Terrible Customer Service, Terrible Company!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thank you for your review. Just to confirm, Gousto is a flexible subscription-based service. If you have an active subscription, we ask that you either choose your recipes or cancel the order before it is processed (at 12pm, 3 days before your delivery day). If this has not been done, our chefs will choose recipes for you based on your account settings. If you don’t want an active subscription, you can pause via the ‘Subscription’ tab in your account. So sorry you feel the quality of the ingredients received have been unsatisfactory and I will be alerting our operations team to look into this with our suppliers. If you wish not to receive weekly orders or orders on a frequent basis, you can put the account on pause by going to the subscription tab and then just order one off boxes when required, so you do not need to remember to skip or be sent a box with recipes that may not be suitable. Alternatively fully cancelling the account can be done via the details tab. Once again so sorry for any inconvenience caused. Best wishes, Kylie - Gousto Team
Posted 3 years ago
Gousto is rated 2.5 based on 721 reviews