“Terrible service. The engineer supposedly serviced the boiler, and left. We suddenly realised that even thought the central heating was turned off from the wall, the radiators were on full. I called Dave the engineer who told me that it's nothing to do with him and that the switch must have stuck and advised me to try switch the whole system off. This seemed to work, so we went out, but on our return we found that the heating had come on again. Called Dave back but no answer. Called Your repair customer service, to be told that it may take 48 hours to get another engineer out. Had a call the following day, from Your Repair offering to send an engineer as long as we paid a £60 excess, because they felt it was not due to them. I did get a call from Dave who said i should remove a cover and hit a box on the system and that he would come and check it out on Monday. He Never showed. I had a call from a manager today again suggesting that they were not at fault and that it was just a coincidence. I mentioned that surely the engineer should have checked that everything was working before he left(Due Diligence), but apparently not. This rip off company will not get another penny from me. I've owned my property for 12 years and always had the boiler serviced through British Gas and never had an issue. I found these clowns on a comparison website. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
1”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and are always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“I had a Landlord policy with them. I expected they came to do a service and then tested and gave me a landlord certificate. But it was unbelievable, they came and did the test first and told us it failed because it had not been service! If they did the service first, it would have passed!.
I had to get another company to do the service. YourRepair would not come to do the LandLord Certificate because the terms and conditions says they have to do both at same time! So I had to pay the LandLord Certificate too!
After one year, the contract expired; I cancelled my direct debit. YourRepair auto-renewed my contract without my consent. They then send the debt collector to collect so-call what I owed them. I ask YourRepair to cancel the policy after I paid the debt collector, YourRepair said I cannot!
I have been with many companies before, YourRepair is the worst.”
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and are always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“I had a boiler service man come in. He did something that has stopped my towel radiators stopped working since that day. Called you repair and they said I’m not covered for radiators. I had not issues before the service. You repair instead of fixing things created a fault and said I’m not covered on fault. Absolutely ridiculous! Please avoid at all costs”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“Great when I ordered seemed ok. But when I had a claim oh no chance. Agree with the previous review worst ever landlord cover.
If you are reading this and a Landlord just don't take out this cover ! be beware of the 24 hour clause and how they use it against you. The Tenant reported an occasional issue with the shower which has been recently installed on 1st July Hot water every where else in the house assumed it was the shower we had just installed. ( Who wouldn't) The chap that installed it was on holiday the tenants were ok to wait as it did not happen every time. He came , First time could not reproduce the fault . second visit managed to re-produce it and identified the boiler issue. Logged a claim ... rejected.... due to timeframe .... no idea what this meant called up and they explained that I did not report within 24 hours of the fault occurring. explained that we had logged it within 24 hours from the boiler being diagnosed as the issue. ..... no the timing is from 1st July ! claim rejected. Logged a complaint .... don't bother you are wasting your time. I Asked why would I log a call on the shower when they did not cover it and they explained if I had they would have rejected that too !!! Explained I logged it within the time period from knowing it was a boiler issue No No No 24 hours .... in contract 24 hours was the reply... . went in circles, canceled the cover today.
If a tenant does not report the fault or you go through and agency you could report it outside the 24 hours .... this will be a rejected claim.”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“Absolutely disgusting company to deal with, avoid at all cost. Leave you with no heating or water. Auto renew and put the premium up massively without telling you then refuse to let you cancel. DO NOT USE!!!!!!!!”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“I would have given zero stars if that was possible.
As my thermostat was not working I telephoned YourRepair. I was advised to check the batteries otherwise I could be charged £90 if the engineer found they were dead. I replaced the flat batteries with new ones, installed correctly, and called back for an engineer.
The engineer arrived on a Saturday afternoon and tried telling me that the batteries were dead. I made him press the edges correctly so that they lit up showing that they were new. He then tried telling me they were in the wrong way round. I showed him that I had followed the diagram and also said that I put them in exactly the same way as the old ones.
He then said that I needed a new thermostat and as he did not have that one on board he would try and get one that afternoon, otherwise he would phone me back the following Monday or Tuesday afternoon to arrange to fit the thermostat. I waited and waited but no phone call.
Tuesday afternoon I received an email from YourRepair stating that I must pay £90 as, words to the effect of, the call out was not necessary. Well, at this point I phoned and complained pointing out that my thermostat still did not work. They agreed to send an engineer back again and that the company "Omega" would call me to arrange an appointment. I insisted that I did not want the same incompetent engineer. It took ages for "Omega' to get back to me and when they did, they said that the same engineer would have to come back to put the problem right.
At this point I was so angry and felt so strongly about not having that same engineer back in my home that I cancelled the direct debit and the engineer visit. YourRepair said that the contract was for 12 months and if I did not pay up the remainder they would pass it on to a debt recovery agency. Cancelling the direct debit does not cancel the policy.
Begrudgingly, I have paid up the remaining 3 months of the policy because I do not want to get into a legal battle with this company.
So, I will say this: Whilst, the telephone people are very polite and helpful, the boiler company that they use are not good (useless in fact). I don't know what the engineer was playing at, but I would not trust him or that company with my boiler or anything to do with it.
Do not use YourRepair.”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“This has been a total farce from 2nd May 2019 till today 9th July 2019. My original complaint on 25th April was regarding a faulty diverter valve and a faulty filler loop valve. We noticed the filler loop valve fault when I had to repressurise the boiler due to the pressure gauge showing a drop in pressure. When the valve was opened, the water was dripping everywhere. This should have been a simple fix. We then noticed that we were not getting any hot water while running a bath for our grandson yet the bathroom sink tap and kitchen tap would only run warm. We then had the gas engineer/plumber turn up within a few days who has informed Your Repair that he replaced the diverter valve yet never mentioned that he did nothing at all about the filling loop valve. The diverter valve was NOT replaced. I did take up his offer of him fitting a magnetic filter to our system at a total cost of £100. I also paid the £60 excess fee to Your Repair for the callout.
As our annual service was due, the same engineer arranged to visit on the 22nd May to carry out the work. He turned up at 9.00am and was out of the house again by 9.30am saying it was all completed. The filling loop valve and cold water running in the bath from the hot water tap still remained.
We then left the country for vacation on 25th May returning on 8th June with the whole heating system switched off.
On 3rd July we called Your Repair to say that the faults were still evident. They stated that "repairs" are only guaranteed for 14 days. I asked if new parts (the replacement diverter valve) also carried the same guarantee or are they the usual manufacturers warranty period of 12 months. Your Repair could NOT (or would not) give me an answer to this. Your Repair then had the audacity to ask for another £60 excess fee to send out an engineer to repair the same fault. A different engineer turned up on 5th July, took the cover plates off the boiler and told me very little work had been done to the boiler. The filler loop valve had not been replaced and minor work was done to the diverter valve.
The second engineer duly informed his company who then immediately contacted Your Repair informing them of the facts but while he was on the phone to his company, Your Repair contacted me to tell me they were arranging to send out one of Alpha's own engineers to look at what had been done. There was nothing else the second engineer could do as it was now outwith his remit.
The Alpha engineer turned up today and was at the boiler replacing the filling loop valve, fitting a new diverter valve and servicing the boiler.
You Repair REFUSE to reimburse the £60 excess as the same fault was reported more than 14 days apart and they still maintain that their “engineer” fitted all parts on the 1st visit.
STEER WELL CLEAR IS MY ADVICE AS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NEGLIGIBLE”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“Agree it's very easy to join but when I tried to claim on the policy for finding a gas leak and then a water leak under the kitchen, on both occassions my claim was rejected due to the small print....then when i cancelled the monthly DD I discovered I was locked into a 12 month contract which has been handed to a debt collector!! So my advice is to read the small print very carefully and not be persuaded my reviews from friends or the low price.”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. We’re sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
The terms and conditions of the policy are very clear and our always available to view either on our website or on the online portal.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“This company failed to attend to a leak which was causing damage to my property until the following day. The 24/7 helpline does not exist. Calls go to voice mail out of hours and are not picked up till the next day. This policy is a waste of money.”
Hi Alison,
I'm sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service you've received.
We do have a 24/7 helpline that is available at all times. I can see your claim was logged and a job was raised in order to attend to your leak. Your claim is currently with a trained claims handler who will be in touch shortly.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“On one property we called out to repair a leak from a boiler. They claimed the boiler needed replacing had sludge was corroded and was exempt according to their T & Cs, and would not repair it. The policy was cancelled, British gas went out to the same boiler a few days later and repaired the boiler with a new pump seal in twenty minutes.
Another property had a few call outs, for a bathroom light switch and a blocked toilet, so they wanted to add a change mid policy to add £60 excess to every claim.
Communication is appalling, you can't email them, only one way, them to you via 'support tickets' and if you phone them they will claim to have reports that the property is substandard, to justify adding an excess retrospectively, but they will not provide the report. Avoid this company they are absolutely useless and don't deserve to be around much longer.”
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry that you were unhappy with our service.
If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“Be aware you are locked into contracts and cannot cancel even during the second year - the cover is in whole years. This was not made clear to me and a patronising manager told me it was in the terms and conditions which were obviously not clear as I wouldn’t have tried to cancel during the year when I got a new boiler.
This needs to be made much more clear as even car insurance can be cancelled during the cover period.
Lesson learned and will not be back.”
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience. We are sorry that you were unhappy with our service. If you wish to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
Hi,
Thank you for leaving a review of our recent experience. We're sorry that you were unhappy with our service. If you would like to discuss this further please call us on 0330 223 4422 (option 3)
Lorna
Aftercare Team
“Not fair to bind your customer on further 12 months renewal contract. If they haven’t claimed they should be allowed to move. Also, this legal binding not specified on the renewal remainder.”
Hello,
I'm sorry you feel this way - we do make our terms as clear as possible.
I can't go into the specifics of your account here, however if you'd wish to discuss in more detail, we'd be happy to talk. We're open until 7pm today on 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“It took three days to get my problem sorted. It is unbelievable as home emergency work. sent engineer job on second day. confirmed with engineer at same day but he didn't show up at the end of day. he lied to me that he didn't receive paper work. Then got my issue sorted on third day and I was charged £90 eventually. and won't allow me to cancel today , as I still need to pay for full year. rubbish company!!”
Hi Ning,
I'm sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service you've received.
Whilst I can't go into specifics concerning your account here, I would encourage you to contact the team who would be able to explain any of the points you raise in more detail. We're open Mon - Fri 8am - 7pm and Saturdays 9am - 2pm at 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“Had two claims so far one end up paying £100 to the plumbing company which work was not needed at all and the second one a standard flushing toilet which every household has got one had non standard part in it. Read their policy first before you sign up the contract.”
Hi,
I apologise you are not satisfied with the service we have provided so far.
Naturally, we're unable to go into the specifics of your account in such a public forum, however if you would like to discuss this further with us, please call us on 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“would not use this company ever after the last 18 months trying to cancel my policy when a service on my boiler was not carried out .finally got citizen advice to resolve things.”
Hi,
Sorry you feel this way, we aim to provide excellent customer service on every occasion.
Whilst I can't go into specifics concerning your account here, I would encourage you to contact the team who would be able to explain any of the points you raise in more detail. We're open Mon - Fri 8am - 7pm and Saturdays 9am - 2pm at 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“I wish I had negative star option. I had a leak from the TSV and I made a complaint and was said I’ll be contacted by one of the repairers in 2 working days. And even after 3 working days no one contacted. I had to contact them again. Still no repair. Had been a week with the leaky radiator TSV. I would have preferred to get it fixed by someone else with a one time payment. No reliable and really a rubbish service. I’d not even recommend this to an enemy of mine. Paying £24 a month and getting no service in return.
Please avoid them.”
Hi,
I'm sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service you've received so far.
Whilst I can't go into specifics concerning your account here, I would encourage you to contact the team who would be able to explain any of the points you raise in more detail. We're open Mon - Fri 8am - 7pm and Saturdays 9am - 2pm at 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“After the first 12 months i was expecting my boiler to serviced but the engineer informed me that my policy was a landlord policy which it certainly was not. So i cancelled the policy that’s when the fun started i emailed them to let them know that i did not want this policy.and cancelled the Direct debit.then for the next year i received 3 letters from a credit collection agency saying that i owed them money for a policy that didn’t exist in the end i went along to the citizens Advice and they helped and now the policy is closed. and I’m with British gas.”
Hi,
I am sorry for any inconvenience caused during this time.
Naturally, we're unable to go into the specifics of your account in such a public forum, however if you would like to discuss this further with us, please call us on 0330 223 4422.
Victoria
Aftercare Team
“Disgusting service. Would never recommend. Engineer damaged property and apparently even though I didn’t appoint him I have to sue him for the damage. However, I will without a doubt be suing Your Repair for damages 100%”
Hi Susan,
Naturally, we're unable to go into the specifics of your account in such a public forum, however we have attempted to help you resolve this issue and remedy the situation with the engineer.
We're sorry that you're not happy with the service we have provided - if there is anything further you wish to discuss with us, please do give us a call on 0330 223 4422.
Tom
Aftercare Team
“**Keep clear** of this company unless you can prove you had your boiler serviced the previous year.
Having carefully read the Terms and conditions before taking this contract out, I decided to go with this company as the price seemed good value. I took the contract out in December. Then in April my hot water and heating stopped working. The boiler wouldn’t fire up, without resetting. Having made several payments and over the 28 day exclusion I thought it would be a simple matter to get an engineer to fix.
I called the help line and put in a queue for over an hour. When I finally spoke to customer service they told me that if boiler was working then an engineer could not fix it. They also said that if the boiler hadn’t been serviced it wouldn’t be covered. I said that there is nothing in the terms and conditions that said this. Only that it had to be in good working order, which it was. His response was "Everybody knows you need to service a boiler every year, its like an MOT, you cant drive without one." Eventually I was told I would have to wait until it had fully failed. When I arrived home later that day the boiler had failed again but reset wouldn’t fire it up so I had to ring back again waiting. Finally I spoke an employee who after a lot of hassle assigned an Engineer who would call me directly within 24 hours.
On the Saturday I called back as I had no reply and was put through to the out of hours service. Well to be honest that’s a joke. I’m sure it’s someone working from home who just forwards messages. I was promised a call back that day, it never happened. On Monday I called the main Office, and asked why the Engineer hadn’t called as I had been without a boiler for 3 days. He said he would investigate and get back to me. It turns out the Engineer who had been allocated decided he didn’t want to the job and was now taken off the Yourrepair subcontractors list. I was told by customer service they would source another Engineer.
Finally on Tuesday an new Engineer arrived. He had never previously worked for your repair and was cold called to fix my problem. He diagnosed the problem to be the gap on the spark electrode and a small leak for which he needed parts. He would call me tomorrow regarding repair.
The following day I had an email from YourRepair saying that they would not proceed with the claim as the boiler had been deemed to have not been regularly served by the engineer. I rang Your repair to ask why they had declined and when I would get my boiler serviced. They said No service until the boiler had been fixed and that Engineer had deduced it hadn't previously been serviced because he found a debris ie a moth at the bottom of the boiler outer casing. When said I would like to cancel my contract I was asked to pay a further £112.
This really got me annoyed so I requested my calls and records be sent to me. Apparently calls are not kept but after reviewing my notes which were emailed I found on the engineers report he couldn’t get the parts for my boiler and requested a boiler upgrade. This is probably why Yourrepair did not want to fix my boiler. After more emails I have finally cancelled my contract. I called another company to look after my boiler. They have since sent an engineer have carried out a boiler health check and found it to be in good working order.
To summarise:
This company will do everything they can not to fix your boiler unless you can prove that it has been regularly serviced, it doesn’t matter If you wait 28 days before claiming. Be prepared to wait in a queue to speak to someone, when they say you will get a call back, hold your breathe. Engineers are subcontractors some of whom may have never worked for your repair before. Don’t expect a service if you have an outstanding problem. If you call out an engineer and no fault is found you will get charged £90. You cannot cancel you policy. The FAQ says Do you need to service / inspect my boiler before it’s fully protected? They say No, This is simply Not true. Do not believe what you read on the website. Read the Terms and conditions carefully!”